What is Self?

My friend Kristi posed this question on Twitter a few weeks ago, and I’ve been intermittently pondering it since.
Finding the word ‘self’ too ‘self’-ish… I mean, already assuming that there is such a thing as an independent, individual, self-referential being that can be defined, I’ve been thinking more about what a person is. I’m not always prone to such philosophical ruminations, but once in a while I think it does my brain cells good to be exercised!
Feel free to join in, add some more questions and give us some more to think about!

The person cannot exist without communion; but every form of communion which denies or suppresses the person, is inadmissible.

John D. Zizioulas

This entry was posted in Quotation, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

