Birthdays

Psalm 90:12
So teach us to number our days
that we may get a heart of wisdom.

This might change the way I think about birthdays!

This entry was posted in Bible, Quotation, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthdays

  1. Charissa says:

    In what ways? 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Hi Charissa!

      Basically, it’s a refreshing change from being encouraged to deny the fact that we’re all getting older!

      The whole of Psalm 90 contrasts our everlasting God who has been the feeling place of his people for generations (v1, 2) with our fleeting lives (v3, 10). I don’t know about you but I spend very little time thinking about the days I’ve been given or that yet lie ahead of me. It’s a bit scary to think of- all the things that I could have done but haven’t, the time that’s ebbing away that I’ll never get back. Which is why I found it so challenging to think of numbering my days…

      This psalm tells me that I’m allotted time, & it’s passing. But it also tells me that there’s wisdom in knowing that. (v13-17) The Lord will return. We wait for him. There’s gladness to be found in the days we have.

      So a birthday- surly even more so! I guess it could be a chance to number not just day by day but the years the Lord had given.

      Do you like birthdays? Do they mean much to you? How do you usually celebrate them?

      • Charissa says:

        I was really excited about turning 30 this year, until the actually day, and then I felt really discombobulated!! I think a lot of my sense of self was wrapped up with being in my 20s. Generally speaking though, I’ve always enjoyed turning a year older. The actual birthday celebrations tend to be a bit overwhelming… every year I tell my self that next time round I’ll do something more low key! Be nice to my introverted self. 🙂

Leave a comment